The first meeting of the DPK-BCC COMMITTEE (Dec 6th and 8th, 2020)

IAPT has formed a Committee to plan for Prof D. P. Khandelwal Birth Centenary Celebrations. The First meeting of this Committee was held on Google meet platform on 6th December, Sunday, 2020 at 7 pm and continued on 8th December, Tuesday, 2020 at 7 pm. Members present were, President Prof Vijay Singh (as the Chair), GS Prof K N Joshipura, Dr S C Samanta, (Convener), Prof Ananthakrishnan, Prof S B Welankar, Prof. Ravi Bhattacharjee, Prof. Y K Vijay, Prof. Rekha Ghorpade and Dr. Sanjay Kr Sharma. IAPT President Prof Singh initiated the meeting through his welcome address. The GS also made introductory comments on the birth centenary celebrations. The following decisions have been taken after considering the different proposals received by the DPK-BCC Committee.

1(a) This COMMITTEE has accepted the proposal for writing a Biography of Dr. Khandelwal. The following Implementation Committee (IC1) has been formed for this purpose.

Prof. R N Kapoor, Dr. Madhuben Shah, Prof. U S Kushwaha, Prof. Vijay Singh, Prof. A P Mehta, Prof. B A Patki, Prof. Y K Vijay (Coordinator), Prof. B K Shrivastava (Editor), Prof. H D Bist, Mr Anil Khandelwal, Dr C K Ghosh, Dr. B Chakraborti and Dr S C Samanta.

- (b) Commemorative Volume: As in 1997, a Commemorative Volume of our Bulletin on DPK would be published.
- (c) Collected Works of DPK: Review Books, Text Books, Articles etc authored by Prof. Khandelwal and scattered in different journals, will be published as 'Collected Works'.

The above committee (IC1) would also look after the publications in the above two items (b) and (c). Biography and Commemorative Volume would be published in the Bulletin of the year 2022. Collected Works would be uploaded in the website of IAPT. Printed volumes would be available only on demands.

- (d) A 5- minute video would be prepared on the important events of the life and works of DPK. This video would be played in each centenary celebration programme. Prof. R. Ghorpade, Dr S K Sharma and Prof. Y K Vijay would take the initiative to prepare it.
- 2(a) i. Science Stage Shows (SSS) as a Centenary Celebration Activity: Each of at least 10 senior IAPT members, who has the experience of organising science demonstration activity and stage shows will be requested to prepare a 20-minute video on a science topic of his/her choice for popularization of Physics/science. In this way, a repository of these videos of physics/science demonstrations will be created and will be uploaded in the IAPT website. Any educational institution would be able to use these videos for attracting their students in the science fields. The SSS programme will be inaugurated during the online programme (see below) on the National Science Day, February 28, 2021.

(a) ii. There will be a special programme on the National Science Day, February 28, 2021 as a part of DPK birth centenary celebrations. In this activity senior IAPT members, who are known to organise science demonstrations, will be requested to deliver their experiment/Demo through 20-25 minute presentation either live/online Demos or through their videos.

These two programmes 2a(i) and 2a(ii) will be managed and monitored by the Implementation Committee (IC2) consisting of Prof. Ananthakrishnan (Coordinator) Prof. S B Welankar, Dr S C Samanta and Prof. K N Joshipura.

(a) iii. To organize Popular Lectures on DPK's theme on Physics and Physics Education: This will be essentially an RC level programme. Prof. Y K Vijay is requested to illustrate and enlist the themes of lectures. Along with him, Prof. Arun Kulkarni, Prof. Rekha Ghorpade and Prof. Arundhati Mishra will motivate the RCs in this regard.

The meeting was adjourned for the day, and was held again at 7 pm on December 8. Unfortunately, on 8th December Prof. RM Dharkar a stalwart in our IAPT family breathed his last. With Prof. Joshipura in the Chair, in absence of Prof. Vijay Singh, the meeting began with a 1-minute silence as homage to him. The following decisions were taken.

- 2(b) i. A national level survey work will be conducted to understand the exact status of lab based physics education at the +2 and the UG levels in the country.
- (b) ii. To organize an online competition on physics experiments for +2 students: This also is essentially an RC level activity, and the RC-15 is conducting it right now: it would be extended to all the RCs. To execute both the programmes 2b (i) and b (ii), a committee (IC3) has been formed with members listed below. Afterwards, different subcommittees would be formed out of the main committee. The members of the committee IC3 are:
- Prof. B P Tyagi, Dr. Himanshu Kr Pandey, Prof. Rekha Ghorpade, Prof. B K Naidu, Prof. P V Ramani, Dr. Swapan Kr Majumdar, Prof. Mita Chowdhury, Prof.K. C. Dash, Prof. H C Verma, Prof. J D Dubey, Dr. M Gulati, Prof. S B Welankar, Dr B Chakraborti, Dr Saswati Dasgupta, Dr R Chattopadhyay, Shri Puspendu Panda, Dr Arundhati Mishra, Dr S K Sharma, Dr P Panchadhyayee, Dr S M Hossain and Dr S C Samanta (Coordinator).
- (b) iii. To approach the Ministry of Education, Union Government of India for conducting a similar survey work through the Government channels, as it is consistent with NEP 2020, a proposal for "National Survey Work: Enhancement of Lab Education" may be submitted. Prof. R Bhattacharjee is requested to pursue the Government after preparing a questionnaire along with Dr M Gulati. If needed, a committee may be formed after inducting other members, with Prof. Bhattacharjee as the coordinator.
- 3 The DPK-BCC Committee has not accepted, on financial grounds, the proposal of Dr V Ghughe, Nisarga Vidnyan Mandal Nagpur, for setting up of a study centre on Astronomy and Atmospheric physics, and a museum on toys in their Chandrapura land at the outskirts of Nagpur. Any such proposal may first be discussed with RC-8 Maharashtra.

- 4(a) Committee has accepted the two RC-15 proposals: (i) for conducting online competition on physics practical for +2 students and (ii) the production of a documentary on IAPT Midnapore College Centre for Scientific Culture; the RC would provide the required fund.
- (b) The Committee has resolved that a similar documentary should be produced for Anveshikas also. Dr Samanta has been entrusted to contact Prof. H C Verma in this regard.
- 5 The Committee has proposed for an award to one RC every year, for undertaking quality activities and publish the report in the Bulletin.
- 6(i) As mentioned by Prof. Ravi Bhattacharjee, the APhO 2022, to be hosted by India, would be dedicated to the memory of Dr. D. P. Khandelwal. Other academic programmes as planned above will continue till early 2022.
- (ii) The DPK-BCC Committee has resolved that if necessary then it can suitably extend any implementation committee/sub-committee, as created above.

As there was no other agenda to discuss, the DPK-BCC Committee meeting ended with thanks to the Chair.

Dr. Subhash Chandra Samanta (Convener)